Senin, 11 Maret 2013

28 Ways to Make Money with Your Website

There are several lists with “ways to make money with a website” on the Internet, but none of them seem to be complete. That is why I decided to create this one. If you know a method that is not listed below, just let us know and we’ll update it.
waystomakemoneywebsite.jpg
Notice that ways to make money with a website are different from ways to make more money from it. Methods to increase your traffic or click-through rate will help you make more money, but they do not represent a method of making money per se.
For example, one could suggest that blending AdSense ads with the content is a way to make money from a website. In reality it’s not; it’s just a way to make more money by improving your ad click-through rate. The real monetization method behind it is a PPC ad network.
The list is divided into direct and indirect methods, and examples and links are provided for each point. Enjoy!

Direct Methods

1. PPC Advertising Networks
Google AdSense is the most popular option under this category, but there are also others. Basically you need to sign up with the network and paste some code snippets on your website. The network will then serve contextual ads (either text or images) relevant to your website, and you will earn a certain amount of money for every click.
The profitability of PPC advertising depends on the general traffic levels of the website and, most importantly, on the click-through rate (CTR) and cost per click (CPC). The CTR depends on the design of the website. Ads placed abode the fold or blended with content, for instance, tend to get higher CTRs. The CPC, on the other hand, depends on the nice of the website. Mortgages, financial products and college education are examples of profitable niches (clicks worth a couple of dollars are not rare), while tech-related topics tend to receive a smaller CPC (sometimes as low as a couple of cents per click).
The source of the traffic can also affect the overall CTR rate. Organic traffic (the one that comes from search engines) tends to perform well because these visitors were already looking for something, and they tend to click on ads more often. Social media traffic, on the other hand, presents terribly low CTRs because these visitors are tech-savvy and they just ignore ads.
List of popular CPC advertising networks:
2. CPM Advertising Networks
CPM advertising networks behave pretty much as PPC networks, except that you get paid according to the number of impressions (i.e., page views) that the ads displayed on your site will generate. CPM stands for Cost per Mille, and it refers to the cost for 1,000 impressions.
A blog that generates 100,000 page views monthly displaying an advertising banner with a $1 CPM, therefore, will earn $100 monthly.
CPM rates vary with the network, the position of the ad and the format. The better the network, the higher the CPM rate (because they have access to more advertisers). The closer you put the ad to the top of the page, the higher the CPM. The bigger the format (in terms of pixels), the higher the CPM.
You can get as low as $0,10 and as high as $10 per 1,000 impressions (more in some special cases). CPM advertising tends to work well on websites with a high page views per visitor ratio (e.g., online forums, magazines and so on).
List of popular CPM advertising networks:
3. Direct Banner Advertising
Selling your own advertising space is one of the most lucrative monetization methods. First and foremost because it enables you to cut out the middleman commissions and to determine your own rates. The most popular banner formats on the web are the 728×90 leaderboard, the 120×600 skyscraper, the 300×250 rectangle and the 125×125 button.
The downside of direct banner advertising is that you need to have a big audience to get qualified advertisers, and you will need to spend time managing the sales process, the banners and the payments.
Related links:
4. Text Link Ads
After Google declared that sites selling text links without the nofollow tag would be penalized, this monetization method became less popular.
Many website owners are still using text links to monetize their sites, though, some using the nofollow tag and some not.
The advantage of this method is that it is not intrusive. One can sell text links directly through his website or use specialized networks like Text-Link-Ads and Text-Link-Brokers to automate the process.
Text link marketplaces and networks:
5. Affiliate Marketing
Affiliate marketing is a very popular practice on the Internet. Under this system you have a merchant that is willing to let other people (the affiliates) sell directly or indirectly its products and services, in exchange for a commission. Sometimes this type of advertising is also called CPA (cost per action) or CPL (cost per lead) based.
Affiliates can send potential customers to the merchant using several tools, from banners to text links and product reviews.
In order to find suitable affiliate programs you can turn to individual companies and publishers like Dreamhost and SEOBook, or join affiliate marketplaces and networks.
List of popular affiliate marketplaces and networks:
6. Monetization Widgets
The latest trend on the web are widgets that let you monetize your website. Examples include Widgetbucks and SmartLinks. Some of these services operate under a PPC scheme, others behave like text link ads, others yet leverage affiliate links.
Their main differentiator, however, is the fact that they work as web widgets, making it easier for the user to plug and play the service on its website.
List of companies that provide monetization widgets:
7. Sponsored Reviews
PayPerPost pioneered this model, with much controversy on the beginning (related to the fact that they did not require disclosure on paid posts). Soon other companies followed, most notably Sponsored Reviews and ReviewMe, refining the process and expanding the paid blogging model.
Joining one of these sponsored reviews marketplaces will give you the opportunity to write sponsored posts on a wide range of topics. Not all bloggers are willing to get paid to write about a specific product or website (because it might compromise the editorial credibility), but the ones who do are making good money out of it.
If your blog has a big audience you could also offer sponsored reviews directly, cutting off the commissions of the middleman.
List of sponsored reviews and paid blogging networks:
8. RSS Feed Ads
With the quick adoption of the RSS technology by millions of Internet users, website owners are starting to find ways to monetize this new content distribution channel.
Feedburber already has its own publisher network, and you can sign-up to start displaying CPM based advertising on your feed footer. Bidvertiser recently introduced a RSS feed ad option as well, with a PPC scheme.
Finally, some blogs are also opting to sell banners or sponsored messages on their feed directly. John Chow and Marketing Pilgrim are two examples.
Related links:
9. Sponsors for Single Columns or Events
If you website has specific columns or events (e.g., a weekly podcast, an interview series, a monthly survey, a special project) you could find companies to sponsor them individually.
This method increases the monetization options for website owner, while giving advertisers the possibility to target a more specific audience and with a reduced commitment.
Mashable illustrates the case well. They have several advertising options on the site, including the possibility to sponsor specific columns and articles, including the “Daily Poll” and the “Web 2.0 Invites.”
Problogger also runs group writing projects occasionally, and before proceeding he publicly announce the project asking for sponsors.
10.Premium Content
Some websites and blogs give away part of their content for free, and charge for access to the premium content and exclusive tools.
SEOMoz is a good example. They have a very popular blog that gives advice and information on wide range of SEO related topics. On top of that visitors can decide to become premium members. It costs $48 monthly and it grants them access to guides, tools and other exclusive material.
11. Private Forums
While the Internet is populated with free forums, there is also the possibility to create a private one where members need to pay a single or recurring fee to join.

SEO Blackhat
charges $100 monthly from its members, and they have thousands of them. Obviously in order to charge such a price for a forum membership you need to provide real value for the members (e.g., secret techniques, tools, and so on).
Performancing also launched a private forum recently, focused on the networking aspect. It is called The Hive, and the monthly cost is $10.
These are just two examples. There are many possibilities to create a private and profitable forum, you just need to find an appealing angle that will make it worth for the members.
List of popular forum software:
12. Job Boards
All the popular blogs are trying to leverage job boards to make some extra income. Guy Kawasaki, ReadWriteWeb, Problogger… you name it.
Needless to say that in order to create an active and profitable job board you need first to have a blog focused on a specific niche, and a decent amount traffic.
The advantage of this method is that it is passive. Once you have the structure in place, the job listings will come naturally, and you can charge anywhere from $10 up to $100 for each.
List of popular job board software:
13. Marketplaces
Sitepoint is the online marketplace by excellence. Some websites and blogs, however, are trying to replicate that model on a smaller scale.
Depending on your niche, a market place that allows your visitors to buy, sell and trade products could work well. Over the time you could start charging a small fee for new product listings.
The problem with this method is that there are no standard software on the web, so you would need to hire a coder to get a marketplace integrated into your website.
You can see an example of a marketplaces being used on EasyWordpress and on Mashable.
14. Paid Surveys and Polls
There are services that will pay you money to run a small survey or poll on your website. The most popular one is called Vizu Answers.
Basically you need to sign up with them, and select the kind of polls that you want to run your site. Most of these services operate under a CPM model.
15. Selling or Renting Internal Pages
Million Dollar Wiki made this concept popular, but it was being used on the web for a long time around (check Pagerank10.co.uk for instance).
These websites sell for a single fee or rent for a recurring fee internal pages on their domain. Usually they have either high Pagerak or high traffic, so that people purchasing a page will be able to benefit in some way.
Implementing this method on a small blog would be difficult, but the concept is interesting and could be explored further.
16. Highlighted Posts from Sponsors
Techmeme probably pioneered this idea, but somehow it has not spread to other websites. The tech news aggregator displays editorial posts on the left column, and on the sidebar they have a section titled “Techmeme Sponsor Posts.”
On that section posts from the blog of the advertisers get highlighted, sending qualified traffic their way. Considering that the monthly cost for one spot is $5000 and that they have around 6 sponsors at any given time, it must be working well.
17. Donations
Placing a “Donate” link or button on a website can be an efficient way to earn money, especially if your blog is on a niche where readers learn and gain value from your content.
Personal development and productivity blogs, for instance, tend to perform well with donation based systems (one good example being Steve Pavlina).
A small variation of this method appeared sometime ago with the Buy Me a Beer plugin. This WordPress plugin enables you to insert a customized message at the bottom of each article, asking the readers to chip in for a beer or coffee.
18. In-text Adverting
In-text adverting networks like Kontera and Vibrant Media will place sponsored links inside your text. These links come with a double underline to differentiate them from normal links, and once the user rolls the mouse over the link the advertising will pop. Should the user click on it the site owner will make some money.
Some people make good money with this method, but others refrain from using it due to its intrusiveness. It is also interesting to note that very few mainstream websites have experimented with in-text advertising.
19. Pop-ups and Pop-unders
Pop-ups are a common yet annoying form of advertising on the Internet. If you are just trying to make a much money as possible from your website, you could experiment with them.
If you are trying to grow the traffic and generate loyal visitors, however, you probably should stay away from them. Just consider the hundreds of pop-up blockers out there: there is a reason why they are so popular.
Ad networks that use pop-ups:
20. Audio Ads
Also called PPP (Pay Per Play), this advertising method was introduce by Net Audio Ads. the concept is pretty simple: play a small audio advertising (usually 5 seconds) every time a visitor enters into your website. The user should not be able to stop it, creating a 100% conversion rate based on unique visitors.
The company is still rolling tests, but some users are reporting to get from a $4 to a $6 CPM. Regardless of the pay rate, though, this is a very intrusive form of advertising, so think twice before using it.
21. Selling the Website
Selling your website could be your last resource, but it has the potential to generate a big sum of money in a short period of time.
Market places on online forums like DigitalPoint and Sitepoint are always active with website buyers and sellers. Keep in mind that they most used parameter to determine the value of a website is the monthly revenue that it generates, multiplied by a certain number (the multiplier can be anything from 5 to 30, depending on the expectations of the seller, on the quality of the site, on the niche and other factors).
Some people also make money trading and flipping websites. They either create them from scratch or buy existing ones, and after some revamping they sell them for a profit.
Related links:

Indirect Methods

22. Selling an Ebook
Perhaps one of the oldest money making strategies on the web, using a website to promote a related ebook is a very efficient way to generate revenue.
You could either structure the website around the book itself, like SEOBook.com, or launch the ebook based on the success of the website, like FreelanceSwitch did we the book How to be a Rockstar Freelancer.
Related links:
23. Selling a Hardcover Book
Many authors and journalists leverage their blogs or websites to sell copies of hardcover books. Examples include Guy Kawasaki, Seth Godin and Malcolm Gladwell.
While most of these people were already renowned authors before they created their website, one could also follow the other way around. Lorelle VanFossen did exactly that with her Blogging Tips book. First she built her authority on the subject via her blog, and afterwards she published the book.
List of self publishing and publishing services:
24. Selling Templates or WordPress Themes
As more and more people decide to get an online presence, website templates and WordPress themes become hotter and hotter.
On this segment you have mainstream websites like TemplateMonster, as well as individual designers who decide to promote and sell their work independently.
Brian Gardner and Unique Blog Designs are two examples of websites that make money with the sales of premium and custom WordPress themes.
25. Offering Consulting and Related Services
Depending on your niche, you could make money by offering consulting and related services. If you are also the author of your blog, the articles and information that you will share will build your profile and possibly certify your expertise on that niche, making it easier to gain customers.
Chris Garrett used a similar strategy. First he created a highly influential blog on the blogging and new media niche, and afterwards he started offering consulting services to clients with related problems and needs.
26. Creating an Email List or Newsletter
Email lists and newsletters represent one of the most powerful marketing and money making tools on the Internet. They offer incredible conversion rates, and the possibility to call people to action in a very efficient way.
Creating a big list is a difficult task though, so if you have a popular website you could leverage it to increase the number of subscribers on your list.
Yaro Starak is a famous Internet marketer, and if you visit his blog you will notice that right on top he has a section encouraging visitors to subscribe to his email newsletter. Yaro generates five figures in revenues each month from his email newsletters, proving that this method works.
List of software to manage email newsletters:
27. Mentoring programs
People are willing to pay for someone or something that will teach them and give them knowledge (as opposed to mere information). Education is one of the biggest industries in the world, and the online landscape behaves in a similar way.
Creating a mentoring program related to the niche of your website could be very profitable if you manage to structure and promote it adequately. There is a wide range of media and tools that you can use to deliver the information, from text articles to audio and video lessons.
Brian Clark leveraged the success of Copyblogger to launch a mentoring program teaching people how to build membership and how to sell content online. The program is titled Teaching Sells, and it costs $97 monthly. Sounds expensive, but they have over 1,000 members.
28. Creating a conference around the website
If your website takes off and becomes an authority on its niche, you could create a conference around it. Depending on the size of your audience, the event could attract thousands of people, and you could make money directly from conference passes and sponsors.
Search Engine Land, for instance, created a series of conferences that visit several cities on the United States and on other countries as well. The conferences are called Search Marketing Expo, and the tickets and passes cost thousands of dollars.

You Don’t Need Investors or VC Funding to Get Started

Whenever I talk to people who are trying to build a start up (be it a website, an online application or a mobile play) the conversation invariably gets channeled to “raising money”. That is, they start talking about why they need to raise money from investors and VCs, how they are going to do it, and what they are going to do with the money afterward.
My reaction is always the same one: “Are you sure you need that money right now, or even that it will help your startup?”
In my opinion, as you can see, raising money from investors and VCs is rarely the solution or even a necessary ingredient to a successful startup. Sometimes it can even be a problem, as you’ll see below.
Sure, you’ll need some money to get started, but for most startups we are talking about numbers between $5,000 and $50,000, and you should be able to raise that kind of money from your personal savings, family, friends and from the bank, all sources that won’t ask for a stake on your project.
On top of that getting venture capital early in the game has potential drawbacks. Here are three of them:
1. If you raise money too soon you’ll need to give up a large share of ownership, as investors will see a higher risk factor there. Should your startup succeed that ownership you gave away will amount to a lot of money.
2. By definition you can only focus on one thing at a time. If you spend time and energy looking for investors you’ll inevitably lose focus from your core product/service, and that is the worst thing you could do to your startup.
3. Sometimes when a company raise a lot of money it becomes lazy, after all you have a big financial cushion. When money is short, on the other hand, people get creative and find new and better ways to do things, to acquire clients and so on.
If you are not convinced here’s empirical evidence: I was just reading an article on ZDNet, and I came across this interesting stat: out of all the startups that were acquired in 2012 (if they were acquired they probably were successful) 76% had not raised venture capital or private equity capital.
As you’ll agree, 76% is quite a high number. In my opinion it confirms that raising money too soon will not help you, and sometimes it will actually hinder your growth.
Bottom line: focus on acquiring clients and improving your product. When the time is right the money will come naturally, and in much better conditions.

The Most Useless Websites on the Internet

A couple of days I was browsing (read procrastinating) when I came across a a website called TheUselessWeb.com. It’s basically a directory of (other) useless websites. At a first sight those websites might look as a waste of time, but I found them interesting for a couple of reasons.
First of all I am certain you will have a laugh or two. Some of the ideas are pretty funny, others pretty weird, and all are very creative. In fact it even gets a bit addictive initially. For instance, check Heeeeeeeey.com (careful, has sounds) or The Blue Ball Machine.
Second, you get to see and experience the ways that people are inventing for you to interact with web pages. For instance, check this site, or this one.
Third, some of those websites managed to attract quite a bit of social media exposure, so you can also try to understand what hooks they were using.
If you find a funny or interesting one that I forgot to mention feel free to drop a comment below.

You Don’t Need to Invent It, Only to Identify It

If you want to build a successful startup or company and make a lot of money with it, especially in the tech sector, you need to come up with some innovative product or service. Something that will drastically improve the way things get done, something that will solve an existing problem in a much better way, something that will allow people to do things they couldn’t before.
Most people know that.
What most people don’t know is that you can build such a company even if you don’t invent the product/service yourself. Instead of inventing it you can identify someone else’s idea, purchase the rights to it or partner with the inventor, and then bring it to the market.
Not convinced? Here’s a powerful example that backs up my case.
Most of the early database systems used a hierarchical model, where data would be represented under tree-like structures using files in the computer memory. Then in 1970 a guy named Edgar F. Codd published a paper titled “A Relational Model of Data for Large Shared Data Banks”, where he proposed a new model based on relations (tables), where users would be able to declare directly what information they wanted back from the database, and the system would take care of the rest.
Codd was working at IBM during that time, but the upper management didn’t give his idea any attention. Peer reviews of his paper were even more harsh. Here’s a quotation from one of them:
This paper proposes that all data in a database be represented in the form of relations—sets of tuples—and that all the operations relative to data access be made on this model. Some of the ideas presented in the paper are interesting and may be of some use, but, in general, this very preliminary work fails to make a convincing point as to their implementation, performance, and practical usefulness.
Adding together the lack of any real-world example, performance experiment, and implementation indication or detail, we are left with an obscure exercise using unfamiliar mathematics and of little or no practical consequence. It can be safely rejected.
There was one guy, however, that thought Codd’s idea was interesting, and he decided to build a company that would develop and sell databases using the relational model. That guy is called Larry Ellison, and the company he co-founded is called Oracle Corporation. The relation model quickly became the de facto standard for databases around the world, and Oracle the largest company developing and selling those systems.
The interesting thing is that in this case the revolutionary idea was just that, a concept. It wasn’t a patent or a proprietary design, so anyone was free to use it, and many did.
Want some more examples?
Apple and Steve Jobs didn’t invent many of the flagship products of the company. The mouse and the graphical user interface, for instance, were invented at Xerox’s PARC (Palo Alto Research Center), and Jobs came across them while visiting the premises. He then made a deal to be able to use them with the Mac, and Apple became the first company to launch bring those innovations to the market. Similarly Apple didn’t invent the MP3 player, but it managed to polish the concept with the iPod, which became the industry leader.
MS-DOS was the product that solidified Microsoft’s dominance as a software vendor, back in 1980. Microsoft didn’t create that product, however. They knew a company called Seattle Computer Products which had a compatible operating system to the x86 microprocessors (the ones used by PCs), and they knew they probably would be able to purchase it for a moderate price. With those cards in hand they approached IBM, and they managed to close a deal to supply the operating system to the next line of PCs. Once the deal was closed they purchased the software from the Seattle company and renamed it MS-DOS.
The bottom line: keep your radar on and always be looking for innovative ideas and products, as identifying one of them can be just as profitable as inventing one yourself.

Audio Books: A Powerful Tool for the Busy Person

For years I have been struggling with two goals of mine: to read more books and to improve my physical conditioning by walking/jogging regularly. Things weren’t terrible, as I was managing to read 6-8 books per year and to walk 2-3 days per week, but my goal is to read 15+ books per year and to walk/job every day.
Sure, these are two tough goals to have, but late in 2012 I came across something that is helping me to get closer to both of them, at the same time: audio books.
I always listened to podcasts (mainly the shows from the Twit network, which I highly recommend), but never got interested in audio books. I even tried to listen to a couple of novels, but found it boring to follow along the audio file.
Then last year I decided to try something new: a non-fiction audio book. The first one I purchased was Liar’s Poker, which describes the experience of guy working as a bond salesman in Wall Street. To my surprise it was much more pleasing to follow along the audio, and I was done with the book within a couple of days.
After that I got the biography of Steve Jobs, Rich Dad and Poor Dad and Getting Things Done. Again the experience of listening to those books in audio format was very pleasing, and it even encouraged me to find more activities where I could be listening to the books.
As a result I started taking long walks pretty much every single day, either as a first thing in the morning or late in the afternoon. Sometimes I will walk longer than I need to just to keep listening to the book.
And don’t worry, I won’t be plugging any company or product on this post. The message I wanted to pass is that audio books can be a powerful tool to help you read more and perhaps even get healthier, so if you are not using them yet you should give it a try.
There’s a project called LibriVox with thousands of public domain audio books, so they are free. As I mentioned above fiction books didn’t do the trick for me. I only find it pleasing to hear non-fiction, so make sure to try both genres to find what works best for you.

10 Commandments for a Healthy Lifestyle

A couple of days ago I was browsing the web when I came across a post with 10 commandments you must follow to have a healthy lifestyle. I figured I should share it, as regardless of your profession, staying healthy is paramount for your success.
The commandments were elaborated by a Brazilian trainer called Nuno Cobra. Among others Nuno trained Ayrton Senna, three times Formula 1 World champion and considered by most the best racing driver that ever lived (myself included).
1. Get at least 8 hours of sleep every night, and never wake up to an alarm clock, as it represents an aggression to your body.
2. Eat in small portions regularly (i.e., every three hours or so).
3. Learn to taste the food and to chew it as slowly and as long as possible.
4. Exercise at least three times per week. Even regular walks, which anyone can do, are enough to give you the benefits of exercising.
5. Avoid stress. When facing it, try to dissipate it as quickly as possible by yawning or doing something that relaxes you.
6. Dedicate at least 15 minutes of your day to meditation.
7. Take at least a couple of cold showers every day, and those can energize you.
8. No treatment or routine will work unless you quit your bad habits first, like smoking or drinking.
9. When exercising, focus on the moment. Don’t read or listen to music while you cycle or jog.
10. Develop the habit of breathing deeper, and focus on the air coming to and going out of your lungs.

Internet Marketing 101: Mental Price Barriers

It has been a while since I created a new category on the blog, and today I am doing that. The category is called “Internet Marketing”. The reason? I am planning to start writing a series on this topic, called “Internet Marketing 101″, where I’ll basically share the stuff I learned over the years buying/selling websites, launching products, promoting affiliate offers and what not.
Today I wanna talk about mental price barriers.
Human beings tend to have very clear patterns when analyzing things (not necessarily rational patterns), and the price of products and services is no exception.
The first pattern is that we tend to group prices according to the number of digits left of the dot. For instance, both $6.50 and $8.50 have 1 digit left of the dot, while $25.70 has two. As a result the first two prices would be considered similar and put in the same mental group, while the third would fall on a separate group.
This means that a potential customer would have a similar reaction whether your product costs $6.90 or $9.90. In other words, he would be equally willing to make the purchase in either case, which means that you should price your product at $9.90 if you want to maximize your profits over the long term.
Obviously you need to take this rule with a grain of salt. $19.50 and $90.50 have the same number of digits left of the dot, but consumers wouldn’t put those price tags in the same mental group. The problem here is that we have crossed different mental price barriers.
As far as Internet marketing is considered, the most common mental price barriers are:
  • $10
  • $20
  • $50
  • $100
If two price tags are below a certain barrier the consumer will probably have a similar reaction to both. For instance, $14.50 and $19.70 are both below the $20 barrier, so the prices would trigger a very similar on the mind of consumers. Same is true for $28.90 and $39.90, or for $79.90 and $97.70.
Let’s use some numbers to illustrate the points.
Suppose that you sell an ebook for $16.90, and your current conversion rate is 1.2% (that is, out of 100 visitors coming to your landing page, 1.2 will make a purchase). Now suppose that you have 10,000 monthly visitors coming to the page where you sell the ebook, so that translates into 120 purchases per month (10000*0.012) and $2028 in monthly profits.
As I mentioned before most people put $16.90 and $19.90 on the same mental group, so if we increased the price to $19.90 the conversion rate shouldn’t fall that much. Let’s assume it would fall to 1.1%.
Now every month we would have 110 purchases, as compared to 120 with the old price tag. However the price is higher, and so are the profits: 110*19.9 = $2189. As you can see by getting closer to the mental barrier we managed to maximize the profits, despite selling slightly fewer units.
The rule of thumb: price your products just below one of the common mental price barriers.
This principle is called price elasticity of demand in economics. If you want to read more on the topic check out the Wikipedia entry.

You Need to Be Able to Create Your MVP

A couple of months ago I wrote a post titled Do You Need to be a Programmer to Found a Startup?, where I argued that yes, you do need to know how to code and some other technical stuff to be able to found a tech startup, be it a website, a mobile or a web application.
That being said, the technical skills you need to have are not that hard to develop. In fact I am not saying you need a Computer Science degree (though one wouldn’t hurt), what I am saying is that you need enough technical know-how to be able to create the MVP of your idea, at least.
MVP stands for minimum viable product, and it’s a version of your product/service with the bare minimum of features you need to be able to launch and test it on the market. For instance, the an MVP of Facebook could be a website where people can signup, upload their photos and connect with friends.
Here’s a story that illustrates the points:
Back in 2008 Andrew Mason came up with an idea: to build a website that would offer deals to customers, as long as enough of them would make the purchase. Andrew had a BA in Music, so he wasn’t a hardcore coder. He did have some web design skills, though. That’s why he decided to install WordPress on the website and hack it a bit to display the offers, the first one being a pizza from a nearby store. The first deal was a success, and so was the following ones. Once the concept was proved Andrew hired professional programmers to evolve the project, and it became what we know as Groupon.
The key point is that the MVP will prove your concept. It will prove that your idea might actually work. Once you have that you’ll be in a better position to evaluate how much money you can actually make, and therefore how much money you should invest to get it off the ground. And the money could either be yours or from investors, as once you have an MVP going it will be much easier to find people willing to invest in it.
Bottom line: your MVP could be as simple as Groupon’s first version, which was a hacked WordPress install. It could be a simple PHP application, an HTML page with some JavaScript and so on. But you need to be able to develop it yourself, cause relying on other people to build your MVP is a nightmare. Once you prove the concept then you’ll be able to hire professional coders to take care of the technical part.
On a future post I’ll mention some places and strategies you can use to develop enough technical skills to be able to create your MVP.

Cara Masukkan Banyak Gambar Dalam Entri Blog Dengan Mudah

Apabila menghasilkan sesebuah entri bagi blog, antara perkara yang hendak dimasukkan adalah gambar. Mungkin mudah untuk masukkan gambar sekeping dua dalam entri blog. Bagaimana pula untuk memasukkan berpuluh-puluh gambar (seperti gambar pergi melancong, perkahwinan, dsb) dalam satu entri blog dengan cara yang mudah.?


Contoh banyak gambar yang dimasukkan sebuah entri seperti di entri ini. Suasana terminal bas di China

Berikut adalah tutorial untuk memasukkan banyak gambar dalam blog sekaligus.

1. Dari dashboard anda, klik pada 'create new post'



2. Pada paparan yang muncul, pilih mode 'compose' kemudian klik pada ikon 'gambar'.



3. Klik pada 'Choose files'



4.Dari paparan yang muncul, pilih seberapa banyak gambar yang anda ingin masukkan, kemudian tekan 'open'



5. Proses upload bermula.



6. Apabila selesai, tekan 'add selected'.
Pastikan sebelum anda tekan 'add selected' semua gambar telah dipilih.



7. Selesai, itu sahaja. Mudah bukan..:)

Berapa maksimum gambar yang boleh diletakkan.?

-Admin sendiri tidak pasti. Kerana admin pernah upload sehingga 40keping, masih lagi ok.:).
Tapi pastinya boleh upload banyak sekaligus.:)